Decide What You Want

Singing at Lacey marketI am happy to report that this is a very readable, interesting book. — The Success Principles: How to Get from Where You Are to Where You Want to Be, by Jack Canfield—co-creator of “Chicken Soup for the Soul”. It is crystal clear from the start that the principles presented in the book have to be practiced in order to move forward. The author quoted Jim Rohn: “You can’t hire someone else to do your push-ups for you.” Canfield says, “I will give you the road map, but you will have to drive the car.”

I just barely started reading this book and I already feel a tiny niggling of self-doubt. I don’t think I have the most glorious track record of efficiently following through with things. Recently, while searching for something in a jam-packed closet, I came across the bright yellow and red print quilt blocks, partially sewn, intended as a new quilt for my little girl.  Unfortunately, my little one is now 32 years old. Like many people I launch into new projects with enthusiasm and then allow bad habits, and life conflicts to derail my plans.

Even so, this success book seems simple and upbeat. It all sounds very neat, organized and obvious. Example: “All you have to do is decide what it is you want, believe you
deserve it, and practice the success principles in this book.”

Okay, I’m feeling a bit fuzzy. What is it that I want? Decide…decide… My perfectionist mind is racing through a list of things trying to decide the perfect, right
choice for what I want. Now, as I type it occurs to me that there probably
isn’t a “correct and right” answer to the “what I want” question.

Here are some things that I want: I want to have a business that is humming along nicely, with a clear-thinking (not me) CEO and a happy, growing customer base. I want to hop on a plane on a whim and visit any one of my children. I have six grown children, none living in the same city and all scattered across the nation from Los Angeles to Boston.

What else do I want? I want to sing in large concert venues with a live orchestra (think Michael Bublé) and inspire happiness in crowds of people. I want a bigger kitchen and a big enough yard that if the bedroom windows are open I can’t hear the neighbors swearing. I want to be financially organized and out of debt. I want school teachers to be paid more than Senators and movie stars. Decide what I want…I’m going to work on that one.

About AndreaSings

Jazz singer. Mom. Designer. Non-cook who loves cheesecake and chocolate truffles. Avid Reader, Writer...Love speaking in public. Lives with husband and shiny black Great Dane. Missing my kids. www.AndreaDensley.com
This entry was posted in Success progress and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Decide What You Want

Leave a Reply

