My Life is My Company

Here is my first asssignment from the coaching group I am in (via conference call)– “Follow through on the ‘new response’ you identified in our discussion on E + R = O. Notice the outcomes”.

The formula relates to our responses to the events in our lives. E (Events) + R (Responses) = O (Outcomes). The idea is that we have total control over the way things turn out with events in our life. You can’t often prevent a car crash…or a boat exploding…(see below), but you have total control of what you do after the accident, the thoughts you think and the actions that you take.

The new commitment, in light of the coaching assignment, is to choose a response that I have normally been using for something and change it to a different response that will develop a positive/more productive outcome.

On reflection, I realized that it seems like my days are lived by trying to “accomplish things”. I feel bombarded on all sides by burdens of things un-finished, things on a deadline, things I can’t find because they are buried under other things. I am being pounded upon by life events.

Next thought flash–What if I looked at my Life as though it were a business and I was the CEO?? I would feel “in charge”, I would feel powerful in choosing what “things” would benefit my business (my Life) and which to bypass.

Additionally, I realized that if I was the CEO of my Life, then God was the owner of it. Literally. He would be the Chairman of the Board. I suddenly felt very peaceful. This is very easy to visualize; I know that I can turn to the Owner for advice, I can turn to the Owner for wise planning and I know that the Chairman of the Board is brilliant and absolutely supports me in my efforts.

I also realized that in the business world, sometimes even the best CEOs make mistakes, and that is still alright. They aren’t instantly fired due to a mistake (usually), but the Board is there to assist them in getting back on track.

Here is my new “R”, my new response to events in my life that I am going to try out:

I am the CEO of my Life.

God is the Owner.

CEOs are allowed to make mistakes.

About AndreaSings

Jazz singer. Mom. Designer. Non-cook who loves cheesecake and chocolate truffles. Avid Reader, Writer...Love speaking in public. Lives with husband and shiny black Great Dane. Missing my kids. www.AndreaDensley.com
This entry was posted in Success progress and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Life is My Company

  1. Jan says:

    This is wonderful advice. I think working with this point of view will help me reduce stress and frustration! Thanks!

    • adens1955 says:

      Jan, I appreciate your comment. In the past few days since I wrote that I have had some situations where it gave me a sense of clear-thinking and power to remember that I am the “CEO”. It has been enlightening to me. Best wishes to you.

Leave a Reply

