Inspired to have a Hobby

Our Lady Peace performing in Kitchener, Ontari...

Image via Wikipedia

Has there been a time in your life when you are trying to do too many things at once? You have goals and plans, and they are all worthy goals that will serve the world and yourself in positive ways, and you are stressed all the time trying to move forward in many areas??

I have been that way for decades now, since probably age 5. In my coaching group we have been studying many wonderful principles for success.  I have been trying to structure a more laser-like direction for my daily activities so they will move me towards the main goal. Goal–singular, like, you know–ONE.

I conversed with a coach today in a private phone session. He reminded me that when I am working towards something that is my most important core purpose, I will feel Peace. He said, “Just for today, make a decision and go one way and see how far you go with it” and still feel peaceful.

If I focus on one main pathway and I give up spending time on an additional good thing, does that make me a quitter? If I’ve been pursuing several goals since childhood and I make only one of them my focused, career-path priority,  does that mean I am not following my dreams, that I have Given Up??

I pondered those questions and immediately saw a mental image of my son, my very personable, talented, guitar-playing, song-writing son who could pursue a lucrative career in the Music Industry and who just declared himself as a business major in college rather than a music major. Yet, in the first month at school he performed in an audition-only talent show before a thousand enthusiastic students and has since found other ways to use his music in his spare moments.

He is not “Giving UP” music. It has now evolved into one “Totally-Awesome-Dude”, giant Hobby. He is enjoying music, having fun and entertaining people. He will eventually get his university degree and be able to have a lucrative business career and still have fun during leisure-time with his music. He is also skillful in time-balancing his pursuits.

EPIPHANY!! I am not a quitter, nor am I giving up on my dreams by making a choice. I now have a very Giant Hobby that makes me and others happy, and I ALSO have a clear career goal that is fun, uses my skills and will be very beneficial. I can now have a clear picture of how to prioritize my daily tasks. Yay!

My thought for the day: “Just because someone is an excellent hang-glider doesn’t mean he has to hang-glide for his profession.”

About AndreaSings

Jazz singer. Mom. Designer. Non-cook who loves cheesecake and chocolate truffles. Avid Reader, Writer...Love speaking in public. Lives with husband and shiny black Great Dane. Missing my kids. www.AndreaDensley.com
This entry was posted in Success progress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

