Math is not my Friend

How do you feel about math and numbers..? This has always been challenging to me. Even reading numbers or comprehending time-spans using a clock can cause errors or anxiety. Add to this my easy distractability, and my anxiety has been magnified at my part-time job in a policy-driven, fast-paced retail business where even minutes count as work time is recorded.

I was “written up” yet again by a manager for working 3 minutes past my shift. I wasn’t being over-zealous–I actually thought my shift ended at 2:30pm, not 2pm. I was so frustrated with myself and the way my brain read the numbers on the schedule. I’ve been chastised several times by management for similar faux-pas. (once I came to work and hour early by mistake, but they were glad that day because they needed extra staff.)

I felt like I wanted to just give-up, to find some sort of job that didn’t require such vigilant concentration and focus. I was weeping inside. I made a call to a success coach at my Jack Canfield Resource Line to just check in and found myself telling him about my embarassing inability to “tell time”.

I wondered (hoped) if he might suggest that I quit since the job wasn’t good for my happiness and spiritual well-being. Instead, he reminded me of my value as a person, reminded me of my reasons to have the job–it is not a career path, but a way to help with financial concerns; and then he helped talk me through some strategies that might help me be more successful in these challenging areas.

And, now I feel better and feel able to give it another go. I wanted to share this because there have been other times I have wanted to just quit something and had many reasons to do so; however, by staying the course and reaching deep into my creativity and patience I ultimately experienced a benefit to my skills and feelings of worth.

Best wishes with your personal challenges today.

About AndreaSings

Jazz singer. Mom. Designer. Non-cook who loves cheesecake and chocolate truffles. Avid Reader, Writer...Love speaking in public. Lives with husband and shiny black Great Dane. Missing my kids. www.AndreaDensley.com
This entry was posted in Personal reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

