Mermaids, a Business Tale

English: en:Mermaid Français : fr:Sirène

English: en:Mermaid Français : fr:Sirène (Photo credit: Wikipedia)


Fifty years ago when I was 8 years old I pretended I was a mermaid, holding my breath and swimming underwater while imagining my two feet  as a  mermaid fin. I could remain sitting on the floor of the pool by gracefully waving my small arms through the water above my head. I let iridescent bubbles escape from my mouth in a slow stream through the clear, sun-dappled water of the community swimming pool.

Thirty-seven years ago when I was twenty I was learning to SCUBA dive in my university’s deep diving pool. I occasionally thought about being a mermaid and sometimes kept my flippered feet together to swim like one.


Two years ago while working in a retail craft store  cutting fabric I was stunned to learn that a customer was buying brightly-colored stretchy spandex fabric for her growing business of manufacturing mermaid tails. She stitched up the tube-like costume around actual swim fins and sold them online at a healthy price to a growing customer base.


I have a BA degree in costume design. I have vast knowledge and skills and creativity. I want to earn money doing something creative. I went home from my fabric-cutting work and researched the mermaid-tail business. I found several small businesses making beautiful creations; on some websites there was even  underwater video footage of mermaid-swimming  customers.


I sighed and realized that with such a niche product the market was probably already flooded. I forgot about mermaids and continued to make prototypes and research marketing techniques for my wonderful un-launched products and newly recorded music CD.


Today I read an article from about a small business owner who is finding success in her job of manufacturing mermaid tails. (…!!)  It described the journey of Jerilyn Winstead  from “homemaker to owner of Aquatails, a company that designs, produces, and sells swimmable mermaid and merman costumes to an international audience.”


In the past, Jerilyn had the same information regarding a niche market that I did. She chose to become excited and look at possibilities rather than the number of competitors. Now Jerilyn “has already started her second business, Mermaid Cove, a full-service swim school which also offers the art of mermaiding, to kids and adults of all ages.”


I don’t want to sew mermaid tails, though I still love to swim underwater. However, I do want to be reminded, to remember, that no matter how educated and creative a person is, it takes actual physical effort and personal belief to move forward in developing a profitable business.

–Read about Fear and business in a previous post, here.

[Please note: If you see ads below my post they were placed there by WordPress and may not reflect by own personal beliefs and are not endorsed by me. Thanks.]


About AndreaSings

Jazz singer. Mom. Designer. Non-cook who loves cheesecake and chocolate truffles. Avid Reader, Writer...Love speaking in public. Lives with husband and shiny black Great Dane. Missing my kids.
This entry was posted in Inspiring and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mermaids, a Business Tale

  1. Kathy Estadt says:

    I found your blog as i was looking through the websites under the Business tag at Loved this story and I posted it on my Facebook page as inspiration for my fans and myself! Keep up the good work. I’ve added you to my Digg Reader so I can read more.

  2. Pingback: Followers Aren’t Always Special…Sad Face | inspired2succeed

Leave a Reply

