Mike Tyson on Having a Plan

“Everybody has a plan until they get punched in the face.”-Mike Tyson.¹

This quote has a reality that I can identify with. Sometimes the unexpected  turnings of life can “pull the rug out from under you.” That experience leaves you sprawled on the floor, breathless.  And then, sometimes life just gives you a sharp “zing!” in the face.

It seems that getting punched in the face would leave you stock photo, Lindy Hop couplestunned. And dizzy and nauseated and you might even black out. Now that I think about it, that’s just what it felt like to me when, during a vigorous swing dance, my partner accidentally smacked me in the cheekbone while we attempted a spin. I actually saw gold sparkles before my eyes. Previously, I thought that was just a graphic effect that artists drew in cartoons of fights. At least I didn’t see little birdies singing.

Here is what I did when I got punched in the face–I had been having so much fun, the  song was still playing, my dear partner was sad and apologetic, so I gave a wobbly smile, sucked in air to lessen the nausea and willed myself to finish the dance.²

A family member once said, “Don’t you wish that sometimes you could punch Life in the face?!”

In what ways do you punch back at adversity?

Sometimes you need a  team of  people to help you fight back, or hold you up till the nausea and blackness ebb away. That’s a challenge too, right? — admitting you need help, and accepting it.  It’s always good to have  something to fall back on to cushion the “blow” when it comes. Sometimes there’s nothing you can immediately do except suck in air, pray and will yourself to finish the dance.


SOURCE:
–Quality and Training Manager at OnPath Business Solutions,LinkedIn.com article by the same title.
 
2. The music playing that night was “Sing, Sing, Sing ” Listen to the song here.   Watch a segment of the song played by the master musicians Gene Krupa, Benny Goodman and Harry James here .
 
Photo was found using image search; it has this URL-http://www.185kingst.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/swing-12.jpg I couldn’t locate the actual source of the photo.
 
About AndreaSings

Jazz singer. Mom. Designer. Non-cook who loves cheesecake and chocolate truffles. Avid Reader, Writer...Love speaking in public. Lives with husband and shiny black Great Dane. Missing my kids. www.AndreaDensley.com
This entry was posted in Inspiring, Personal reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

